Wednesday, December 16, 2009

New Board of the SABC

Dear All

The President of the Republic, Mr Jacob Zuma today, in terms of section 13(1) of the Broadcasting Act 44 of 1999 (the Act) appointed, with effect from 10 January 2010, twelve non-executive members of the Board of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) as recommended by the National Assembly.

These are:

* Mr Cedric Sabelo Gina
* Ms Phillipa “Pippa” Green
* Mr Peter John Harris
* Ms Barbara Masekela
* Mr Magathe Mello
* Mr Nkotomane Motsepe
* Dr Baldwin “Ben’’ Ngubane
* Mr David Niddrie
* Ms Claire O’Neil
* Ms Felleng Sekha
* Ms Suzanne Vos
* Mr Desmond Golding

In terms of section 13(3) of the Act, the President has designated Dr Ben Ngubane as Chairperson of the Board and Ms Felleng Sekha as Deputy Chairperson of the SABC Board.
Dr Ngubane, a highly regarded former Minister of Arts, Culture, Science and Technology and former South African ambassador to Japan, will bring the necessary expertise and depth of experience required in a weighty position of this nature.

Ms Sekha brings extensive experience in the broadcasting and telecommunications sectors, having served in various positions, including as chairperson of the Independent Broadcasting Authority and the National Telecommunications Forum. She was also actively involved in the Telecommunications Policy process leading to the enactment of the South African Telecommunications Act of 1996, which will assist the board in this era of convergence between telecommunications and broadcasting.

The President thanks Ms Irene Charnely and the entire interim Board for the excellent manner in which they have steered the SABC forward under challenging conditions, bringing about stability.
The President wishes the new Board members well in their task of strengthening the public broadcaster and to build an SABC that will efficiently and effectively execute the mandate of informing, educating and entertaining citizens and the world.