Friday, November 22, 2013

Announcement of the JUDGES for the Inaugural WGSA Muse Awards

"WGSA has created the WGSA Muse Awards to recognise the hard work done by our members in the SA film, TV and entertainment industry. It is an award by writers for writers, which finally shines the spotlight on the often forgotten custodians of SA arts and culture," says Harriet Meier, Chairperson of the WGSA. "We are thrilled with the number of entries, and that we have been able to secure some of the top names and stakeholders in the country as well as international writer and mentor Larry Brody as adjudicators."

Entries have now closed and the Writers’ Guild of South Africa is proud to announce the judges who will select the winners of the very first WGSA Muse Awards.

The judges for the various categories in the First Round are as follows:
 Feature Film:  Clive Morris, Helena Spring, Richard Nosworthy, Sam Shale, Thandi Brewer,  Pulane Boesak

  TV Drama:  Ayanda Halimana, Larry Brody, Vanessa Jansen

  TV Comedy:  Dr. Eubulus Timothy, Sir Liam J Stratton, Marvin Mathibe

  Documentary:  David Forbes, Harriet Meier, Peter Michael Goldsmid

  Stage Play:  Clinton Marius, Julie Hall, Sam Phillips

  Afrikaans Scripts:  Harriet Meier, Leon van Nierop, Nicci Bothma

The first round of adjudication will be concluded on 31 December 2013.

The judges for the Final Round and selection of winners in all categories are as follows:
 ·         Janet van Eeden
·         Larry Brody (International – USA)
·         Louis Minnaar
·         Ramadan Suleman
·         Richard Nosworthy
·         Thinus Ferreira
·         Thomas McLaughlin (International – Ireland)

This round will conclude on 28 February and the winners will be announced during the WGSA MUSE AWARD Ceremony on 15 March 2014.

For more information or to participate in the gala event, please contact:
Thea Aboud
Writers' Guild of South Africa
Tel: 011 888 4349 or mobile 082 575 6901