Thursday, March 6, 2014


It is with pleasure that SASFED, as the representative of organized industry within the Film Industry, present the following six (6) nominees:

Barend Kaynie

Kaynie is a Senior Risk Manager at the IDC and prior to that he was a Senior Credit Analyst. Kaynie has two financial qualifications and a MBA from the Henley Business school. Kaynie understands the problems involved with funding and getting an adequate return on investments. He is also well versed in growing small and medium enterprises, like production houses for emerging filmmakers. 

Lushen Pather
Pather, a CA (SA), is currently the head of group financial planning and budgeting at Standard Bank Group Limited. He has previously worked as the CFO for Investec and has occupied senior positions at The Deutsche Bank and Ernst & Young. Pather has also previously co-owned a production company, and therefore brings an understanding of the industry with him.

Ramadan Suleman
Suleman is an award winning feature film director and writer. Having begun his directing career in 1984, he has lived and studied both in Paris and at the London Film School. Suleman has devoted his time to independent industry organizations such as SASFED and the IPO for a number of years, and has been a Chairperson in both organizations. He continues to work tirelessly to educate the industry on international standards, norms and procedures. 

Dr. Eubulus Timothy
Timothy recently worked as a consultant to the Durban Film Office in the process of it being set up. He was also the founding chairperson of the Cape Film Commission. Timothy has won awards in screenwriting and has been recognized for his contribution to the African Film industry. He has also written, produced and directed various television shows.

Desiree Markgraaff
Markgraaf is a Senior Creative and Executive Producer on some of South Africa’s top television shows. She has also produced an Emmy Award winning four part documentary series. She was chairperson of the IPO for 8 years and also founded:  Filmmakers against Racism. Markgraaf has contributed to the development of the industry by mentoring entrants at the company of which she is the Managing Director.

Teboho Pietersen
Pietersen is film graduate from AFDA and has a Masters Accreditation in script editing. He has written and produced a number of films and television shows. He has also worked as a Film Business Lecturer.  As an active member of the Documentary Filmmakers Association, he is currently its Chairperson. Pieterson has represented the industry on the NFVF Board, and continues to show his commitment to the independent sector. 

For full resumes of the nominees please contact SASFED